SAVE THE DATE: September 22nd, 2011

On September 22nd, 2011, The History Project invites you to celebrate Boston's gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) history and to join us in honoring the community members and organizations who make history every day.

Cocktails, hors d'oeuvres and dessert will be served.
6:00 - 9:00 p.m. | Goethe-Institut Boston | 170 Beacon Street | Boston

WGBH's Jared Bowen to emcee the 2011 HistoryMaker Awards

The History Project is excited announce Jared Bowen
will once again emcee the HistoryMaker Awards.
Jared is an Emmy-winning reporter with
WGBH-TV's nightly news magazine program, Greater Boston.

Jared Bowen is an Emmy-winning reporter with WGBH-TVís nightly news magazine program Greater Boston with Emily Rooney. Jaredís coverage takes him from breaking news to politics to arts and culture. In his regular Center Stage segments, Jared covers the latest in the Boston areaís theater, art, music, dance and film scenes. He is a member of the Elliot Norton Awards Selection Committee recognizing achievement in Boston theater. He also serves on the Board of Governors for the Boston/New England Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

In over a decade with WGBH, Jared has produced four news documentaries
for Greater Boston, and he produced the first three seasons of the stationís
Eye on Education initiative. Heís won two New England Emmy awards
for his arts reporting.

Jared began his career at Dateline NBC in New York and is a graduate
of Emerson College where he also won several Associated Press Awards.

Please join us in celebrating Boston's LGBTQ community!

Tickets are $100 before August 15th
$125 after August 15th

Space is limited!

To purchase tickets online:

To order tickets by phone, or if you have any questions:
Call Andrew Elder at 617.266.7733
and have your credit card information handy.

Sponsorship Opportunities

Learn more about how your organization or company can sponsor this event.
Download our complete sponsorship form.

Or download one of these specific forms:
Corporate Sponsorship | Advertising | Auction Donation

2011 Host Committee | Kevin Batt | Michael Connolly and John Smith
Libby Bouvier & Andrea Devine | Orlando Dell Valle and Roland St. Jean
Amit Dixit | Neal Kane and Charles Schoonmaker | Pat Gozemba and Karen Kahn
Tony Grima and Peter Muise | Kevin Hepner | Stewart Landers
Warren Seamans | Donald Yasi

The 2011 Awards

The HistoryMaker Award is presented to an individual or organization
whose lifetime achievements have had a significant
and positive effect on Boston's GLBT communities.

This year we will honor
Mary Bonauto
Civil Rights Project Director
at Gay & Lesbian Advocates and Defenders (GLAD)

Read a more complete bio of Mary Bonauto.

The Lavender Rhino Award is presented to an emerging activist
or organization whose impact on the local GLBT communities
deserves recognition.

This year we will honor activist and community-leader Maggie Cee - artist, activist, dancer, educator, and the founder and artistic director of The Femme Show.
Read a more complete bio of Maggie Cee.

Maggie Cee

See photos from the 2010 reception and award winners

If you'd like to learn how you can join the Host Committee
for the 2011 HistoryMaker Awards,
email or call 617.266.7733.

The Goethe-Institut is wheelchair accessible, however the accessible rear entrance and drop-off area is on Back Street, which runs parallel to Storrow Drive and Beacon Street. Parking is not available at the Goethe-Institut. For parking and other location information, visit The Goethe Institut. For more information, contact Andrew Elder at 617-266-7733 or email

Brought to you by The History Project.
The History Project is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.
Your gift is tax-deductible as allowed by law.